Just another WordPress.com site

Using CourseSites to help absent students

I was really excited to learn that we could set up free BlackBoard sites for our classes. I’ve been using this tool for about 2 weeks now and it has been a great open learning tool. The function that has been most helpful for my students is the ability to post class files in the content section. My students have responded very positively to being able to access class notes and handouts online when they are absent. It has also been helpful to me because they come to class with the assignments that they missed. I was even able to post a video that we watched on Ellis Island so absent students could view it as well. I wasn not sure how middle school students would respond to BlackBoard but my Eighth graders have really liked it. My next task is to give a quiz using CourseSites. I look forward to reporting back on how it goes.

-Nicole C.

Leave a Reply

