Just another WordPress.com site

2 Great Black History Websites for Teachers

I am currently tutoring mostly minority middle school students in the AVID program at a Title 1 school. Being only a tutor in the AVID classroom, I do not have much say as to activities outside of the AVID curriculum, but my teacher allowed me to lead this series of activities with the students. This week we substituted some Black History Month activities for our usual tutorial group sessions.  This was sprung on me at the last minute, so I searched the web for instant ideas. www.educationworld.com is a website for teachers that contains lesson plans and activities for all grade levels in almost all topics. The website is incredibly user-friendly; all I had to do was click on the “Top Features” tab, then scroll down to the “Holidays & Special Days” link. Dozens of lessons and activities dealing with Black History Month appeared, and after scanning the options provided for me, I could pick and choose ideas from various lesson plans to implement with my middle school students. They engaged in the Black History Month Scavenger Hunt, a collection of online activities aimed at teaching students more about the topic through a hands-on experience.

http://www.educationworld.com/a_special/black_history.shtml

Another useful website dealing with Black History is www.floridablackhistory.com/facts.cfm. On this website, historical facts pertaining to each day of the month are listed and described in brief detail. I had my minority middle school students find information on people I did not think they would be familiar with, as to have them learn more about their own heritage; the website does not only list major players such as Martin Luther King, Jr. or Rosa Parks, but a variety of musicians, authors, etc. The website also contains a laundry list of Black History literature for each grade level (http://www.floridablackhistory.com/reading.cfm) so teachers can emphasize the importance of Black History all throughout the year.

By: Rachel Lipson

Leave a Reply

