Just another WordPress.com site

The Lil’ Wayne Metaphor Machine…PARENTAL ADVISORY!

I would NOT recommend using this as a classroom tool, but often an enrichment activity for certain students struggling with metaphors. This is the Lil’ Wayne metaphor machine. The site generates random quotes from the famous rappers, and all quotes have a metaphor. Some are clean, and others are extremely inappropriate. There is one thing for sure, after a student makes the connection that this southern rapper has quick wit, an incredible mind, and a firm grasp on literary devices, students will understand the concept of metaphors.

This website was used as a complement to a lesson. During a descriptive writing activity, I noticed some of my students were having trouble with metaphors and similes. I knew that lil’ Wayne plays a big part in my students’ itunes collection, so i started quoting some of his songs. They immediately made the connection. I then put the website on the board and told my students that lil’ Wayne was the KING of metaphors, and if they did not believe me, to go to that site. The following day I had numerous students tell me that looking at the metaphor machine really helped.

My favorite:

“And when it comes down to this recording
I must be Lebron James if he’s Jordan
No, I won rings for my performance
I’m more Kobe Bryant of an artist
Same coach, same game, been starting
same triangle offense”.

Link to Website:
Lil’ Wayne Metaphor Machine

Leave a Reply

